Cranes Certificate Only

Have you got Cranes unit standards and want the qualification?

You can now apply to have your cranes units awarded to a New Zealand Certificate. You will need to provide confirmation from your employer that you have the competencies to gain the qualification.

What you need to do:

  1. Choose the qualification you are seeking from the following list:
    • New Zealand Certificate in Cranes (Level 3) with strands in:
      • Dogman
      • Cab Controlled Overhead Crane
      • Self-Erecting Tower Crane
      • Truck Loader Crane
      • Pendant-Controlled Overhead Crane
    • New Zealand Certificate in Cranes (Level 4) with strands in:
      • Advanced Dogman
      • Crawler Crane
      • Mini Crane
      • Mobile Crane
      • Non-Slewing Articulated Crane
      • Tower Crane
  2. Check you meet the entry requirements and unit standards are on your NZQA Record of Learning. Without these, we cannot issue a Certificate for you.
  3. Get your employer to complete the Employer Attestation Form:
  4. You are now ready to submit your application to Skills for the Certificate Only process. You will need to complete and submit the below to Skills –

Skills will then:

  1. Process your application
  2. Award the qualification to successful applicants.


  1. Skills processing time is 30 working days. If you do not hear from Skills after a month, you can contact Skills to follow up on your application.
  2. Certificates will be posted to the applicant.