Scaffolding Certificate Only

  1. Home
  2.  » Scaffolding Certificate Only

Have you got Scaffolding unit standards and want the qualification?

You can now apply to have your scaffolding units awarded to a New Zealand Certificate. You will need to provide confirmation from your employer that you have the competencies to gain the qualification.

What you need to do:

  1. Choose the qualification you are seeking from the following list:
    • New Zealand Certificate in Scaffolding Level 3 (General)
    • New Zealand Certificate in Scaffolding Level 3 (Proprietary Suspended)
    • New Zealand Certificate in Scaffolding Level 4
    • New Zealand Certificate in Scaffolding Level 5
  2. Check you meet the entry requirements and unit standards are on your NZQA Record of Learning. Without these, we cannot issue a Certificate for you.
  3. Get your employer to complete the Employer Attestation Form:
  4. Gather your evidence and contact one of the organisations below. The organisation you select will :
    • Check and advise whether you meet all the requirements of the qualification under the Certificate only process.
    • Identify any gaps
    • When all the requirements are met, you can take the common assessment task with your selected organisation. The common assessment task is of two types – practical or theory. Applicants with less than two years of work experience must take the one-week practical assessment at a provider. Applicants with two years or more work experience may have the option of taking a practical or theory common assessment task. See below for details.
      • Providers – TTP and Vertical Horizons for a one-week practical assessment, or SARNZ for theory assessment, if they have the years of work experience required for the level of the qualification as stated below:
        Level 3: 2 years work experience
        Level 4: 3 years work experience
        Level 5: 5 years work experience
        Learners with less than the years of work experience – contact provider to attend 1 week block course and take the practical common assessment task.
    • On successful completion of your common assessment task, the organisation will give you a letter to confirm your achievement of the common assessment task.
    • The organisations are:
  5. You are now ready to submit your application to Skills for the Certificate Only process. You will need to complete and submit the below to Skills –
    • Training agreement
    • Skills Application form for Certificate award
    • Portfolio of evidence including:
      • Record of Achievement – that show you have met all the entry requirements and the unit standards within the qual
      • Letter from the organisation to confirm you have completed the common assessment task
      • Employer Attestation forms
    •  Make the payment

Skills will then:

  1. Process your application
  2. Award the qualification to successful applicants.


  1. Skills processing time is 30 working days. If you do not hear from Skills after a month, you can contact Skills to follow up on your application.
  2. Certificates will be posted to the applicant.